Winners announced of GHASTLY AWARDS for 2016

EDITOR’S NOTE: Every year the Ghastly Awards recognize the best in horror comics. The winner’s list makes a great jumping-on point for readers interested in exploring more of what the world of horror has to offer in the comics medium.  Read on, and make your notes . . . . .


The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2016 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2016. Winners were voted on by Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judges congratulates all 2016 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.


The 2016 Winners are:

Harrow County 003 002

Best Ongoing Title

Harrow County

(Dark Horse Comics) 

390824 SX360 QL80 TTD

Best Limited Series


(Alterna Comics) 

LK SmallWorld01 covA

Best One-Shot

Locke & Key: Small World 

(IDW Publishing)

51tD1Sau9PL SX321 BO1 204 203 200


Best Anthology

John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night Volume 2 

(Storm King Productions)


Best Short Story in an Anthology

“When the Devil Walked in Dower”

(Insane Tales From the Dead #3)


519cmB qFML SX351 BO1 204 203 200

Best OGN

Dylan Dog: Mater Morbi 

(Epicenter Comics)


Best Archival Collection

Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics

Aliens 30th Anniversary: The Original Comic Series 

(Dark Horse Comics)


Best Writer

Cullen Bunn 

(Harrow County, The Sixth Gun, Blood Feud, Death Follows)


Best Artist

Tyler Crook

(Harrow County)


Best Colorist

Dave Stewart

(House of Penance, B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth) 


Best Inker

Nik Poliwko

(Tiki Surf Witches Want Blood, The Creeps, Tales from Grim County)


Best Letterer

Nate Piekos

(Colder: Toss the Bones, Alabaster: The Good, the Bad & The Bird, The Steam Man,
Aliens: Defiance, House of Penance, Weird Detective)

Gore Shriek Resurrectus Volume 1


Best Horror Comic Cover

Fan voting determined the Winner

Gore Shriek Resurrectus Volume 1: Cover B

(Artist Putrid Matt Carr)


Hall of Fame Inductees

Johnny Craig 

Gary Reed 


Normanton Award Honoree

Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.

Craig Yoe



Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 6th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators, Publishers and Fans to decide the winners.


We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2016 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2017 Awards!


We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated is an honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.


For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2017 Award season please go to



Popular posts from this blog

Robert Kirkman: Invincible, Walking Dead, Wolf-Man

Best descriptive 2013 title: Vampire Vixens of the Wehrmacht

Attention Horror Comics Creators! Submit to GHASTLY AWARDS