The 2014 Ghastly Award Winners

 The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2014 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2014. Winners were voted on by the Judges, Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2014 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2014 Winners are:Rachel Rising

Best Ongoing Title

Rachel Rising
(Abstract Studios)

Best Limited Series

Deadworld: Restoration
(IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot

Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the
Murders in the Rue Morgue

(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Anthology

In the Dark
(Tiny Behemoth Press / IDW Publishing)

Best Short Story in an Anthology

Beneath the Surface
(Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)

Best OGN

Monsters & Other Stories
(Dark Horse Comics)


Morella and Murders

Best Archival Collection

Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics

The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications
(IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Chilling Archives

Best Writer


Terry Moore  - picture at right, above
(Rachel Rising)

Best Artist

Francesco Francavilla – picture at right, below
(Afterlife with Archie)

Best Inker

Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons
(The Curse of Ragdoll)

Fracncesco Francavilla

Best Letterer

Terry Moore
(Rachel Rising)

Best Colorist

Jay Fotos
('68 Rule of War, '68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)

Best Web Comic

Graveyard Gang
( 68rulesofwar_1_coverA

Best Horror Comic Cover

Fan voting determined the Winner


'68 Rule of War #1
(Artist Nat Jones)

Hall of Fame Inductees

Al Hewetson

Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree

Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of
Horror Comics for generations to come

Peter Normanton


Decapitated Dan, Mike Howlett, Belinda "Spaced" McNeill, Lonnie Nadler, Bree Ogden, Steve Banes, Denise Dutton, Daniel Viney

Founded in 2011 by Decapitated Dan with the help of Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler and Mykal Banta, the Ghastly Awards recognize outstanding achievements in Horror Comics over a range of 15 different categories. The nominees are chosen by other horror comic book professionals and winners are chosen by a panel of judges.

The Awards were named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels.
Starting in 2013 the Ghastly Awards switched over to a Submission based process. Comic Publishers and Creators can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.

The Ghastly Award Judges work strictly on a volunteer basis. There is no paid staff and the awards are completely funded from the generous donations of its sponsors. Sponsorship does not guarantee, or influence Ghastly Awards Nominations or Winners in any way. Sponsorship is solely used to help raise funds for the Awards and costs of running the Awards on a yearly basis. 


Popular posts from this blog

Robert Kirkman: Invincible, Walking Dead, Wolf-Man

Attention Horror Comics Creators! Submit to GHASTLY AWARDS

Best descriptive 2013 title: Vampire Vixens of the Wehrmacht