The 2014 Ghastly Award Nominees announced, open for fan voting

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the 2014 Ghastly Award Nominees. The Nominees, chosen by the Ghastly Award Judges, reflect the wide range of Horror material being published in print and web comic form today. All Nominees were selected from work that was submitted by Comic Publishers and Creators throughout the year for Ghastly Award consideration.

Named after acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the awards are now in their 4th year.

Fan and Creator Voting will be open from February 9, 2015 until February 22, 2015 at You may only vote once for the 2014 Nominees, and Fans will decide the winner of the Best Horror Comic Cover Award. Winners will be announced on March 1, 2015.

We thank everyone who took the time to submit their work for this year's awards.

The 2014 Nominees are:
Best Ongoing Title:
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)
Crossed: Badlands (Avatar Press)
Nailbiter (Image Comics)
Outcast (Image Comics)
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)

Best Limited Series:
‘68: Homefront (Image Comics)
Caliban (Avatar Press)
Deadworld: Restoration (IDW Publishing)
The Strain: The Fall (Dark Horse Comics)
Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland (IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot:
Crossed: Special 2014 (Avatar Press)
Dismal Incantation (Herman Inclusus)
Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the Murders in the Rue Morgue (Dark Horse Comics)
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Premature Burial (Dark Horse Comics)
Killogy: Halloween Special (IDW Publishing)

Best Anthology:
Bloke’s Terrible Tomb Of Terror #10 (Indy)
God Is Dead: The Book of Acts - Alpha (Avatar Press)
Hellraiser: Bestiary (BOOM! Studios)
In the Dark (Tiny Behemoth Press / IDW Publishing)
Monstrosity Vol. 2 (Alterna Comics)

Best Short Story in an Anthology:
Beneath the Surface (Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)
Grandeur and Monstrosity (God Is Dead: The Book of Acts Alpha)
Not All There (In The Dark)
Red World (Grimm Tales of Terror #4)
Trial by Cauldron (Canaan Cult Revival)

Best OGN:
Carbon (Caliber Comics)
Monsters & Other Stories (Dark Horse Comics)
The Absence (Titan Comics)
The Curse Of Ragdoll (Mike Wolfer Entertainment)
The Shadows of Salamanca (Humanoids Inc.)

Best Archival Collection:
Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics
28 Days Later Omnibus (BOOM! Studios)
EC Archives:The Vault of Horror Volume 3 (Dark Horse Comics)
Serenity Rose: 10 Awkward Years (SLG Publishing)
Swampmen: Muck-Monsters and Their Makers (TwoMorrows Publishing)
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:
Alex de Campi (Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight)
Joe Hill (Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Joshua Williamson (Nailbiter, Ghosted)
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa (Afterlife with Archie, Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Artist:
Ben Templesmith (Squidder)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Leonardo Manco (John Carpenter's Asylum)
Menton3 (Memory Collectors, Nosferatu Wars)

Best Inker:
Christian DiBari (Cutter)
John Bivens (Dark Engine)
Martin Stiff (The Absence)
Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons (The Curse of Ragdoll)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Letterer:
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Jack Morelli (Afterlife With Archie)
Rachel Deering (In the Dark, Creepy, Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
Tyler & Ma’at Crook (Bad Blood)

Best Colorist:
Elizabeth Breitweiser (Outcast)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Jay Fotos ('68 Rule of War, '68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Kelly Fitzpatrick (Dark Engine)
Tyler Crook (Bad Blood)

Best Web Comic:
Disenchanted (
Graveyard Gang (
Karma Springs (
Split Lip (
Wart (

Best Horror Comic Cover:
Fan voting will determine the Winner
'68 Rule of War #1 (Nat Jones)
'68 Rule of War #3 Cover B (Tim Vigil & Jay Fotos)
Afterlife with Archie #6 (Francesco Francavilla)
Caliban #1 Terror (Facundo Percio, Sebastian Cabrol & Hernan Cabrera)
Hellraiser: Bestiary #04 Cover B (Daniele Serra)
Memory Collectors #3 Sub. Variant (David Stoupakis)
Nosferatu Wars (Menton3)

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Hewetson
Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree:
Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.
Peter Normanton

The Ghastly Awards congratulate all of the Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated by the Ghastly Award Judges is an honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate these achievements.


Decapitated Dan, Mike Howlett, Belinda "Spaced" McNeill, Lonnie Nadler, Bree Ogden, Steve Banes, Denise Dutton, Daniel Viney
Founded in 2011 by Decapitated Dan with the help of Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler and Mykal Banta, the Ghastly Awards recognize outstanding achievements in Horror Comics over a range of 15 different categories. The nominees are chosen by other horror comic book professionals and winners are chosen by a panel of judges.

The Awards were named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels.
Starting in 2013 the Ghastly Awards switched over to a Submission based process. Comic Publishers and Creators can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.

The Ghastly Award Judges work strictly on a volunteer basis. There is no paid staff and the awards are completely funded from the generous donations of its sponsors listed below. Sponsorship does not guarantee, or influence Ghastly Awards Nominations or Winners in any way. Sponsorship is solely used to help raise funds for the Awards and costs of running the Awards on a yearly basis.

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad


Popular posts from this blog

Robert Kirkman: Invincible, Walking Dead, Wolf-Man

Attention Horror Comics Creators! Submit to GHASTLY AWARDS

Best descriptive 2013 title: Vampire Vixens of the Wehrmacht