Comic Professionals Honor Peers at 2016 HARVEY AWARDS Banquet

from the official press release . . . . .

Harvey Award Recipient Logo

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND - September 4, 2016- Comic Professionals came together Saturday night, September 3, 2016 to honor their peers during the presentation of the 2016 Harvey Awards. 


Named in honor of Harvey Kurtzman, the Harvey Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the field of comics, and is the only industry award both nominated and selected by comic professionals. First awarded in 1988, it is one the industries oldest and most respected awards.

This year's winners include:


Best Letterer: John Workman, RAGNAROK, IDW Publishing


Best Colorist: Laura Allred, SILVER SURFER, Marvel Comics


Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: BLOOM COUNTY, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick


Best Online Comics Work: BATTLEPUG, Mike Norton,


Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Tie: TWO BROTHERS, Dark Horse Books and CORTO MALTESE: BEYOND THE WINDY ISLES, IDW Publishing


Best Inker: Klaus Janson, DARK KNIGHT III: THE MASTER RACE, DC Comics


Best New Series: PAPER GIRLS, Image Comics


Most Promising New Talent: Tom King, THE VISION, Marvel Comics


Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, HOWARD THE DUCK, Marvel Comics


Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: LUMBERJANES, BOOM! Box/BOOM! Studios


Best Graphic Album Previously Published: THE LESS THAN EPIC ADVENTURES OF TJ AND AMAL, Iron Circus Comics


Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios


Best Domestic Reprint Project: CRIMSON VOL. 1, BOOM! Studios


Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics


Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions




Best Graphic Album Original: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions


Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA, Image Comics


Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, SAGA, Image Comics


Best Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics


Best Cartoonist: Stan Sakai, USAGI YOJIMBO


Best Single Issue or Story: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, BOOM! Studios


Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Carl Barks, Al Jaffee


Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year AwardBeth Widera


Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giella

Vivek Tiwary, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fifth Beatle, Tony Award-winning Broadway producer, and founder of multi-platform arts and entertainment company Tiwary Entertainment Group, returned to act as host and Master of Ceremonies for this year's event.
Comics industry professionals who presented at this year's award ceremony included Keynote speaker Dean Haspiel, Christina Alger, Amy Chu, Katie Cooke, Steve Geppi, Denis Kitchen, Charlie Kochman, Hope Larson, Paul Levitz, Terry Moore, David Petersen, Filip Sablik, Louise SimonsonWalter Simonson, Mark Waid, and Dirk Wood.  

The Baltimore Comic-Con will host the Harvey Awards for the eleventh year during the 18th annual show, taking place September 22-24, 2017.


About The Baltimore Comic-Con

The Baltimore Comic-Con is celebrating its 17th year of bringing the comic book industry to the Baltimore and Washington D.C. area. For more information, please visit


About The Harvey Awards

The Harvey Awards are one of the comic book industry's oldest and most respected awards. With a history of over 25 years, the last 11 in conjunction with the Baltimore Comic-Con, the Harveys recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories. They are the only industry awards nominated and selected by the full body of comic book professionals. For more information, please visit



Popular posts from this blog

JOE PRUETT makes local appearance this Friday 11/03

New Comics Wednesday Review: SINK #3

Sweet Dreams