GHASTLY AWARD 2015 winners announced

GHASTLY NOTES:  Horror comics are becoming more frequent in our reading culture, and the Ghastly Awards are here to recognize, through Horror Comic submissions, those that shine the brightest.  We encourage all Comic Creators to take the time to head over to, become familiar with the site and guidelines, and submit your work for future Ghastly Award Nomination consideration. 

GA Logo

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2015 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2015. Winners were voted on by the Our Celebrity Guest Judge, John Everson, Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2015 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2015 Winners are:


Best Ongoing Title 

Harrow County
(Dark Horse Comics)


Best Limited Series

Archie vs. Predator
(Dark Horse Comics)


Best One-Shot 

The Goon: Theatre Bizarre 
(Dark Horse Comics) 


Best Anthology

John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night *
(Storm King Productions)


Best Short Story in an Anthology

“The Jokes on You”
(Bloke’s Terrible Tomb of Terror #12


Best OGN

Hellbound *
(Dark Horse Comics) 


Best Archival Collection 

Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics

Creepy Presents: Alex Toth *
(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Writer

Cullen Bunn *
(Army of Darkness, Harrow County, Hellbreak, The Sixth Gun)


Best Artist 

Raymund Bermudez*


Best Colorist

Luca Saponti


Best Horror Comic Cover

Fan voting determined the Winner

Godzilla in Hell #1 - Subscription
(Artist Jeff Zornow)


Hall of Fame Inductees

Stephen R. Bissette  

Richard Corben


Normanton Award Honoree

Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.

Dan Braun



Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 5th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators, Publishers and Fans to decide the winners.

We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2015 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2016 Awards! 

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated is an honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements. 

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2016 Award season please go to 

Decapitated Dan, Mike Howlett
, Denise Dutton, Daniel Viney and James Ferguson. 

EDITOR’S NOTES:  We made our picks for the awards in a previous February article. BC Refugees correctly identified 5 of the 11 eventual winners (45%).  For those keeping score, where our picks matched the winner, we have noted an asterisk * after the name.



Popular posts from this blog

JOE PRUETT makes local appearance this Friday 11/03

New Comics Wednesday Review: SINK #3

Sweet Dreams