The 2012 GHASTLY AWARD Winners announced

from the official press release . . . . .

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2012 Ghastly Awards.  Nominees were chosen from entries nominated by their professional peers: Comic Book Artists, Writers, and Publishers.   Winners were chosen by the Ghastly Awards Judges, Comic Book Creators and the Fans.


The 2012 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:      The Walking Dead (Image)

Best Mini-Series:     Deadworld: War of the Dead (IDW)

Best One-Shot:     Edgar Allan Poe’s The Conqueror Worm (Dark Horse)

Best New Series (Fans Decided the Winner):     Mars Attacks (IDW)

Best Anthology:     Creepy (Dark Horse)

Best OGN:     Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Book 1 (Heavy Metal)

Best Archival Collection:      The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Zombies (IDW/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:      Steve Niles
(Criminal Macabre, 30 Days of Night, Transfusion, Frankenstein Alive, Alive, Lot 13)

Best Artist:      Simon Bisley
(Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Hellblazer)

Best Inker:     Bernie Wrightson
(Frankenstein Alive, Alive)

Best Letterer:     Nate Piekos
(Creepy, The Goon, Ragemoor)

Best Colorist:     Dave Stewart

Best Web Comic:     Crossed: Wish You Were Here

Hall  of  Fame  Inductees:                                                                                                                                                            Al Feldstein & Bill Gaines
Bernie Wrightson

Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 2nd year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, every comic creator had a say in who the nominees were by nominating their favorites throughout the year.

The submission process is now open for the 2013 Awards!   For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2013 Award season please go to


Popular posts from this blog

JOE PRUETT makes local appearance this Friday 11/03

New Comics Wednesday Review: SINK #3

Sweet Dreams